UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization



EFA/ History

Back to Education for All and the PRELAC

EFA/ History
  • © UNESCO

In 1990, the Heads of 92 countries from around the world assembled in Jomtien (Thailand) to address the serious problem posed by educational exclusion. On the occasion, participants adopted the World Declaration on Education for All: Meeting Basic Learning Needs, in an effort to work collectively towards achieving a major aspiration set forth in Article 26 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights - Everyone has a right to education”.

Ten years later, at the World Education Forum (Dakar), the countries made a collective commitment, on behalf of the international community, to achieve basic education for every citizen and for every society. To this end, participants adopted the Dakar Framework for Action which establishes the six goals to be achieved by 2015.

The Framework for Action advanced the need for each country to incorporate the EFA goals into their national education plans. It also underlined the importance of ensuring a broad-based participation of civil society and assuming, in collaboration with governments, co-responsibility for education, supported by cooperation with the international community. For its part, UNESCO would continue its mandated role in coordinating EFA programmes at the global, regional and national levels.

In terms of our continent, the Dakar Framework for Action is complemented by the Regional Framework of Action adopted at the Regional Meeting on Education for All in the Americas, held in Santo Domingo (February 2002), which addressed pending issues, achievements, challenges and commitments assumed by our region.

See also:

  • Education for All strategies. More


    World Education Forum, 2000. The Dakar Framework for Action
    World Declaration on Education for All and framework of reference. Towards meeting basic learning needs. Jomtien, Thailand, 1990.


    El Foro Mundial de Educación (Dakar, Senegal, 2000).
    The six goals to be achieved by 2015