Inicio - Servicio de prensa
Comunicados de prensa
Anuncios de prensa
Oficinas fuera de la sede
Relaciones con la prensa

Portavoz del Director General
Flash Info
el Correo de la UNESCO
Agenda cultural
Ediciones UNESCO
Servicios de información
Documentos de la UNESCO
Naciones Unidas
- Centro de Noticias ONU
- Sitios web de la ONU

Versión para imprimir
Los medios pueden utilizar y reproducir libremente el material publicado por UNESCOPRESS

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Para fomentar el debate democrático  
10-11-2006 2:50 pm The UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence will be presented on 16 November at UNESCO (Room I, 6 p.m.) by Marcio Barbosa, UNESCO’s Deputy Director-General, to the 2006 laureate, Veerasingham Anadasangaree, the president of the Tamil United Liberation Front (TULF).
The award ceremony will take place on International Day for Tolerance, celebrated every year on 16 November. A cultural evening will follow the prize-giving, with the showing of a film about the South Asia Foundation and a performance of dance from Sri Lanka.

Born in Sri Lanka in 1933, Mr Anadasangaree became the President of the Tamil United Liberation Front in 2002, after working as a teacher and lawyer. As an indefatigable advocate of democracy and peaceful conflict resolution, he has contributed to raising awareness of the Tamil cause in a spirit of dialogue, while seeking to promote non-violent solutions in Sri Lanka and opposing terrorism.

The $100,000 UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize was created in 1995 to mark the 125th anniversary of the birth of Mahatma Gandhi, thanks to the generosity of the Indian writer and diplomat Madanjeet Singh, a UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador. Dedicated to advancing the spirit of tolerance in the arts, education, culture, science and communication, the Prize is awarded every two years to an individual or an institution for exceptional contributions in the promotion of tolerance and non-violence.

Fuente Media Advisory N°2006-64


 ID: 35639 | guest (Leer) Updated: 10-11-2006 5:48 pm | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact