Inicio - Servicio de prensa
Comunicados de prensa
Anuncios de prensa
Oficinas fuera de la sede
Relaciones con la prensa

Portavoz del Director General
Flash Info
el Correo de la UNESCO
Agenda cultural
Ediciones UNESCO
Servicios de información
Documentos de la UNESCO
Naciones Unidas
- Centro de Noticias ONU
- Sitios web de la ONU

Versión para imprimir
Los medios pueden utilizar y reproducir libremente el material publicado por UNESCOPRESS

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Para fomentar el debate democrático  
11-05-2006 10:00 am Abdoulaye Wade, President of the Republic of Senegal, will receive the 2005 Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize on May 16 at UNESCO Headquarters (2.30 pm, Room I). Eight Heads of State are expected to attend the ceremony: Jacques Chirac (France), Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo (Equatorial Guinea), Olusegun Obasanjo (Nigeria), Mamadou Tandja (Niger), Marc Ravalomanana (Madagascar), Amadou Toumani Touré (Mali), João Bernardo Vieira (Guinea-Bissau), and Jakaya Kikwete (Tanzania).
Announcing the choice last September, jury president Henry Kissinger, a former U.S. Secretary of State and Nobel Peace Prize winner, stated: “The prize is given to President Abdoulaye Wade for his contribution to democracy in his country and for his mediation in political crises and conflicts in Africa.”

Born in 1926 in Saint-Louis du Sénégal, President Wade is a lawyer by training. An associate professor of economics, he is a former Dean of the Faculty of Law and Economics at the University of Dakar. The founder of the first legal opposition party in Senegal, he has been imprisoned twice. A Member of Parliament for 26 years and several times government minister, he was elected president of the Republic of Senegal on March 19, 2000.

The Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize is named after the first president of Côte d’Ivoire and consists of a cheque for 122,000 euros, a peace diploma and a gold medal. It was created in 1989 by UNESCO’s General Conference at the initiative of 120 countries and honours people, institutions and organizations that have contributed significantly to the promotion, research, safeguarding or maintenance of peace, in keeping with the United Nations Charter and UNESCO’s Constitution.

Past laureates include Nelson Mandela and Frederik W. De Klerk (1991); Yitzhak Rabin, Shimon Pérès and Yasser Arafat (1993) ; King Juan Carlos of Spain and former US President Jimmy Carter (1994) ; and Xanana Gusmão, President of Timor Leste (2002).


Fuente Media Advisory No.2006-27


 ID: 32900 | guest (Leer) Updated: 17-05-2006 9:01 am | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact