United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science to be presented on February 27

Paris - The 2003 L’OREAL-UNESCO awards and fellowships For Women in Science will be presented by UNESCO Director-General Koïchiro Matsuura and L’OREAL Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Lindsay Owen-Jones during a ceremony at UNESCO Headquarters on February 27 (7 p.m.).

The award laureates will be presented US$100,000 each for their extraordinary and often revolutionary research. Started in 1998, the For Women in Science partnership aims to improve the position of women in science by annually recognizing outstanding female researchers from the world’s five major regions. After four years of awards presented to women working in the life sciences, this year for the first time they will be attributed in the field of material sciences.

The laureates were selected by an international jury composed of ten eminent scientists, and presided by Professor Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, Nobel Prize in Physics (1991).

The partnership also includes a fellowship programme, to encourage young women scientists to pursue research on promising projects in the laboratory of their choice. The fellowships, worth US$20,000 each (increased from US$10,000), will be presented to 15 women, three each from the following regions: Africa, Arab States, Asia/Pacific, Europe/North America and Latin America.

To organize interviews: Stéphanie Gruter & Alix de Nicolay: CICOMMUNICATION. Tel: +33 (0)1 47 56 42 55 - Fax: +33 (0)1 47 23 88 98

Source Media Advisory N°2003 - 11
Editorial Contact: Amy Otchet; UNESCO Bureau of Public Information, Editorial Section. Telephone: +33 (0) 1 45 68 17 04
- Email a.otchet@unesco.org
Publication Date 17 Feb 2003
© UNESCO 1995-2007 - ID: 9467