Singapore rejoins UNESCO

Singapore rejoins UNESCO
  • © UNESCO/M. Ravassard

Today, Ms TAN Lian Choo, Deputy Chief of Mission and Minister-Counsellor of Singapore to France, presented her credentials as Permanent Delegate to UNESCO to the Director-General, Mr Koïchiro Matsuura, following Singapore’s deposition on 8 October 2007 in London of its instrument of acceptance.

On this occasion, the Director-General warmly welcomed the return of Singapore to the Organization and expressed his great joy at seeing the country “rejoins UNESCO, thus reinforcing by its presence the universal character of the Organization, a guarantee of its greater efficiency.” Mr Matsuura expressed his strong conviction that: “Universality is UNESCO’s main source of strength. It opens the way for global responses to increasingly complex situations,” he said.

“Singapore as Member State will make a rich and diverse contribution to debates in all of UNESCO’s areas of competence,” Mr Matsuura concluded.

On 17 October 2007 during the 34th session of the General-Conference, the Minister of State for Education and Minister of State for Manpower, Mr GAN Kim Yong, Head of the Singaporean Delegation to the Conference, will officially raise the flag of Singapore alongside of those of the other 192 Member States of the Organization.

Over the course of the present Director-General’s mandate, UNESCO has seen the return of the United States of America (2003), and the accession to the Organization of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia* (2000), Timor-Leste (2003), Brunei Darussalam (2005) and Montenegro (2007). Tokelau became an Associate Member in 2001. UNESCO now has 193 Member States, one more than the United Nations.

* The official name of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was changed to Serbia and Montenegro in February 2003. The Serbian authorities informed UNESCO in June 2006 that the membership of Serbia and Montenegro was being continued by the Republic of Serbia following Montenegro’s declaration of independence.

  • Author(s):Office of the Spokeswoman
  • Source:Flash Info N° 131-2007
  • 09-10-2007
Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific