Français - English
What is Sustainable Development?

Background & Preparations
UNESCO at Johannesburg
Alliances & Partnerships

UNESCO's Priorities
Educating for Sustainability
Scientific Dimensions
Ethical Principles
Cultural Dimensions
Media and ICTs

Some Action Themes
Biological Diversity
Fresh Water
Local and indigenous knowledge



Printer friendly version

Home > Ramsar Convention on Wetlands - Updated: 08-01-2003 2:19 pm
The Convention on Wetlands, which was signed in Ramsar (Iran) in 1971, provides one of the principal international instruments for the conservation of wetlands.  

UNESCO is the depository organization for this intergovernmental treaty, which provides the framework for national action and international co-operation for the conservation and wise use of wetlands and their resources. There are currently 132 Contracting Parties to the Convention, with 1,178 wetland sites totalling 102 million hectares, designated for inclusion in the Ramsar List of Wetlands of International Importance. The Convention’s Secretariat, known as the Ramsar Bureau, is located at IUCN Headquarters in Gland, Switzerland.

URL for Link 1


 ID: 3513 | guest (Read) © 2002 - UNESCO - Contact