Call for Candidates: Sharjah Prize for Arab Culture 2006

The Sharjah Prize rewards the efforts of a national of an Arab Member State and a national of any other country, each of whom have contributed through artistic, intellectual or promotional pursuits, to the development and diffusion of Arab culture in the world.
Endowed by the Government of Sharjah (United Arab Emirates), this prize was awarded first in 2001, and then annually in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

The Prize consists of a sum of US$ 50,000 offered by the Government of Sharjah, to be divided equally between the two laureates, selected by the Director-General of UNESCO on the basis of the recommendation of an international jury established for that purpose.

Deadline for submission of nomination forms: 31 August 2006

For more information, please contact:

Mrs Jeannette Tchilinguirian
Project Officer of the Sharjah Prize
Division of Cultural Diversity and Intercultural Dialogue, Culture Sector
1 rue Miollis, 75732 Paris Cedex 15,
Tel. +33.1, Fax +33.1
e-mail: j.tchilinguirian@unesco.org

More about the Sharjah Prize for Arab Culture

Photo: Al-Munji Ammar / Dept. of Culture and Information, U.A.E.
Publication Date 03-08-2006 9:00 am
Source Culture Sector
Publication Date 03-08-2006 9:00 am
Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific