Eighteen sites added to World Heritage List

Eighteen new sites were added to the World Heritage List during the 30th session of the World Heritage Committee, which met on 8-16 July in the Lithuanian capital, Vilnius.
They include two natural sites and the extension of one natural site, which also became a transboundary property. Sixteen cultural sites were inscribed, one of them transboundary and three existing sites were extended. Improvements in the state of conservation of five sites warranted their removal from the List of World Heritage in Danger, while two sites were added to that list, which now numbers 31 sites. Mauritius had its first site added to the List during this session.

The 21-member World Heritage Committee is to meet again in June 2007 in New Zealand to discuss the implementation of UNESCO’s World Heritage Convention and review additions to the World Heritage List.

Sites Inscribed Thursday, 13 July
Chile, China, Germany, Islamic Republic of Iran, Italy, Oman, Poland, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, United Kingdom

Sites Inscribed Wednesday, 12 July
China, Colombia, Ethiopia, Gambia and Senegal, Malawi, Mauritius, Mexico, United Republic of Tanzania

Photo Gallery

In-depth articles on five new sites
UNESCO Courier, July-August 2006

Photo: © UNESCO/Jean-Pierre Heim
Crac des Chevaliers (Syrian Arab Republic)
Publication Date 18-07-2006 10:00 pm
Publication Date 18-07-2006 10:00 pm
Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific