UNESCO.ORGThe OrganizationEducationNatural SciencesSocial & Human SciencesCultureCommunication & InformationSitemap
UNESCO's Executive Board
  UNESCO.ORG > UNESCO's Executive Board > FAQ


In order to correct an imbalance in the geographical distribution of seats on the Board, all members of UNESCO are grouped by regional Electoral Groups. There are the following six electoral groups:

- Group I (Western European and North American States)

- Group II (Eastern European States)

- Group III (Latin-American and Caribbean States)

- Group IV (Asian and Pacific States)

- Group V (a) (African States)

- Group V (b) (Arab States)

The 58 Member States are elected to the EXB according to this system of regional grouping whereby each region is allocated a specific number of seats on the Board.

(The Ex. Board of UNESCO, I, 8.1; Rules of Proc. of the GC, app. 2)

The principle of “equitable representation” is applied for the establishment of committees, working groups and drafting groups.


  • FAQ in English
  • FAQ in French
  • FAQ in Spanish
  • FAQ in Arabic (PDF)
  • FAQ in russian (PDF)
  • FAQ in Chinese (PDF)
  • Abbreviations
  • PDF English version
    To display PDF documents
    Acrobat Reader is needed.
    Download the latest version:

    © 2005, UNESCO - Disclaimer - Privacy Policy - guest (Read) - ID: 31523