Home - Media Services
Press Releases
Media Advisories
Calendar of Events
Media Relations

DG's Spokesperson
Flash Info
New UNESCO Courier
Cultural Events
UNESCO Publications
Information Services
UNESCO Documents
United Nations
- UN News Centre
- UN System Websites

Printer friendly version
Media are free to use and reproduce UNESCOPRESS outputs

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Nurturing the democratic debate.  
Czech National Library to receive UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize, awarded for the first time this year

31-08-2005 5:30 pm The National Library of the Czech Republic will be awarded the first UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize in recognition of its contribution to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage on September 2. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Cheongju in the Republic of Korea. The National Library was selected from a short-list of seven, out of a total of 36, nominations to receive the US$30,000 prize, funded by the city of Cheongju. The laureate of the prize is proposed by the Bureau and Advisory Board of UNESCO’s Memory of the World Programme for the preservation of documentary heritage and is designated by the Director-General of UNESCO.

The prize commemorates the inscription on the Memory of the World Register of the oldest known book of movable metal print in the world, the Buljo jikji simche yojeol. Printed in two volumes in Korea in 1377 A.D., The Jikji contains the essentials of Zen Buddhism. The first volume of the work is missing and the second is kept in the Bibliothèque nationale of France.

The six other short-listed nominations for the prize were: the National Library of Australia, the Departamento del Valle del Cauca (Colombia), the National Mission for Manuscripts (India), the Universidad Centroamericana (Nicaragua), Fathi Hassan Saleh (Egypt), and the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) in Tanzania.

Created in 2004, the UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize is given biennially to individuals or organizations that have made significant contribution to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage. It is awarded in an official ceremony either in Paris or in the Republic of Korea on the occasion of the Jikji Day.

Source Press Release N°2005-99

 ID: 28683 | guest (Read) Updated: 08-09-2005 9:06 am | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact