Home - Media Services
Press Releases
Media Advisories
Calendar of Events
Media Relations

DG's Spokesperson
Flash Info
New UNESCO Courier
Cultural Events
UNESCO Publications
Information Services
UNESCO Documents
United Nations
- UN News Centre
- UN System Websites

Printer friendly version
Media are free to use and reproduce UNESCOPRESS outputs

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Nurturing the democratic debate.  
Australian Marine Park Authority and Mexican Ecologist Receive 2005 Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Protection

05-07-2005 4:00 pm Koïchiro Matsuura , Director-General of UNESCO, has attributed this year’s Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Protection jointly to the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (Australia) and to Dr Ernesto C. Enkerlin-Hoeflich (Mexico). The Bureau of the International Co-ordinating Council of UNESCO's Man and the Biosphere (MAB) Programme chose them at its meeting on June 29, during which it also selected ten young researchers to receive the 2006 MAB Young Scientist Awards. The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA), principal adviser to the Australian Government on managing the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, received the prize for its crucial contributions to the conservation of the Great Barrier Reef, a critical global resource. Guided by the principle of balancing conservation and sustainable use, the GBRMPA has created an innovative framework that, whilst allowing for reasonable human use, will still ensure the healthy survival of the coastal and marine ecosystems.

The Bureau also recommended that the prize be given to Dr Ernesto C. Enkerlin-Hoeflich (Mexico), President of the National Commission on Natural Protected Areas of Mexico (CONANP), for his outstanding contributions to nature and wildlife conservation, ecological research and environmental education. Born in 1958 in Monterrey, Mexico, and an expert on the ecology of parrots, Mr Enkerlin-Hoeflich is active in a number of research areas. During his four-year tenure at CONANP, which is charged with the conservation of all protected areas in Mexico, five new sites have been incorporated in the World Network of Biosphere Reserves.

The Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Preservation, made possible through a donation from His Majesty Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al-Said of Oman, aims to acknowledge outstanding contributions to the management or preservation of the environment. The prize is awarded every two years.

In addition, the Bureau selected ten recipients of the 2006 MAB Young Scientists Awards, which encourage young scientists to conduct interdisciplinary research on ecosystems, natural resources and biodiversity, in line with the MAB Programme's focus on sustainable interactions between people and their environment.

The winners are: Mariane Ouabego (Central African Republic); Boyossoro Helene Kouadio (Côte d’Ivoire); Hugo Romero Saltos (Ecuador); Kwaku Aduse -Poku (Ghana); Diana Lopez (Mexico); Younes Hmimsa (Morocco); Sung Mi LEE (Republic of Korea); Nadezhda Arylova (Russian Federation); Lorena Rodriguez Gallego (Uruguay); Thi An Chau PHAM (Viet Nam).

Internet Site

Source Press Release N°2005-80

 ID: 28293 | guest (Read) Updated: 06-07-2005 1:07 pm | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact