Home - Media Services
Press Releases
Media Advisories
Calendar of Events
Media Relations

DG's Spokesperson
Flash Info
New UNESCO Courier
Cultural Events
UNESCO Publications
Information Services
UNESCO Documents
United Nations
- UN News Centre
- UN System Websites

Printer friendly version
Media are free to use and reproduce UNESCOPRESS outputs

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Nurturing the democratic debate.  
2005 UNESCO Literacy Prize winners announced - United Nations Literacy Decade (2003-2012)

24-06-2005 4:00 pm Literacy projects in Mozambique, Spain and Sudan are the winners of the 2005 UNESCO Literacy prizes, announced today by the Organization’s Director-General, Koïchiro Matsuura. The two US$15,000 UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prizes, have been awarded to the AULA Cultural Association and GOAL, a humanitarian organization working in Sudan. The winner of the US$15,000 UNESCO International Reading Association Literacy Prize is the Associação PROGRESSO, a non-governmental organization working for community development in Mozambique.

An international jury, appointed by the Director-General, selected the laureats from among 45 nominations.

The AULA Cultual Association, a neighbourhood movement in Palma de Mallorca, was chosen for the way its education activities have been tailored to suit a range of social groups, particilarly women, immigrants from Africa and south and east Europe, and young people without school qualifications or in danger of social exclusion. The jury praised AULA for its “active, flexible communication-based educational programmes to foster development, intercultural understanding and citizenship.”

GOAL Sudan was selected for its Women’s Literacy Programme in Displaced Communities in Sudan. The programme has helped thousands of war-displaced illiterate women to improve family welfare and community recovery, reduce their level of illiteracy and enable vulnerable families and communities to better meet their needs. It assists groups in identifying problems and taking basic actions such as road maintenance, creation of local markets and small shops in isolated areas, or the establishment of nursery schools, as well as developing income generating activities for households.

In Mozambique, the Associação PROGRESSO, has designed and implemented a literacy programme aimed at empowering communities, structures and networks in the provinces of Niassa and Cabo Delgado, by providing knowledge, skills and resources. The non-governmental organization places great importance on the use of local culture and languages in all of its learning materials. It has also provided training for writers, editors and printers to ensure ongoing production of materials in these languages and to encourage its learners to continue reading.

The winners will receive their prizes on September 8, International Literacy Day.

The UNESCO prizes are awarded annually in recognition of particularly effective contributions to the fight against illiteracy, one of UNESCO’s priorities. They call attention to the efforts of thousands of men and women who devote themselves year after year to advancing the cause of literacy for all.

* The International Reading Association Literacy Award was founded in 1979 thanks to the International Reading Association.

**The two US $15,000 King Sejong Literacy Prizes were created in 1989 through the generosity of the government of the Republic of Korea.

Internet Site

Source Press Release N°2005-73

 ID: 28166 | guest (Read) Updated: 27-06-2005 10:43 am | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact