Home - Media Services
Press Releases
Media Advisories
Calendar of Events
Media Relations

DG's Spokesperson
Flash Info
The UNESCO Courier
Cultural Events
UNESCO Publications
Information Services
UNESCO Documents
United Nations
- UN News Centre
- UN System Websites

Printer friendly version
Media are free to use and reproduce UNESCOPRESS outputs

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Nurturing the democratic debate.  
25-02-2005 4:00 pm Education for all, education for sustainable development and UNESCO’s response to natural disasters are the three themes on the agenda for the annual meeting of UNESCO Goodwill Ambassadors, which will take place on March 3 and 4 at Organization Headquarters (Room X).
UNESCO Director-General Koďchiro Matsuura will open the session, followed by Michael Abiola Omolewa, President of the General Conference, and Hans-Heinrich Wrede, Chairman of the Executive Board, (March 3, 10 to 10.20 a.m.). The Goodwill Ambassadors will present their work over the past year and discuss their experiences (10.20 to 12.20 p.m.). They will then be available for press interviews (12.20 to 12.50 p.m.).

During this meeting, Aicha Bah Diallo, interim Assistant Director-General for Education, and Mary Joy Pigozzi, Director of the Division for the Promotion of Quality Education, will present the objectives of the United Nations Decade of Education for Sustainable Development (2005-2014), which will be launched by Mr Matsuura on March 1 at UN Headquarters in New York. The main objective of this Decade is to encourage the governments of Member States to incorporate the concept of sustainable development into their educational policies.

Walter Erdelen, Assistant UNESCO Director-General for the Natural Sciences and Patricio Bernal, Executive Secretary of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), will present UNESCO’s work for the prevention of natural disasters, with a particular focus on the project for a global tsunami warning system, launched by UNESCO, which is due to go into operation in June 2007.

The following ambassadors have already confirmed they will be attending: Ara Abramian, Mehriban Aliyeva, Patrick Baudry, Cheick Modibo Diarra, Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, Princesse Firyal, Ivry Gitlis, Ikuo Hirayama, Jean-Michel Jarre, Omer Zülfü Livaneli, the Grand Duchess Maria Teresa of Luxembourg, Ute-Henriette Ohoven, Kitin Muńoz, Cristina Owen-Jones, Kim Phuc Phan Thi, Susana Rinaldi, Mstislav Rostropovich, Sheikh Ghassan I. Shaker, Madanjeet Singh, Zurab Tsereteli, Giancarlo Elia Valori, Marianna Vardinoyannis and Maria de Lourdes Egydio Villela.

Journalists will be able to attend the morning session of March 3.Those wishing to cover the event should request accreditation fro the Press Relations Section: Tel: 00 33 (0) 1 45 68 17 48 ; i.le-fournis@unesco.org

Source Media Advisory N°2005-11


 ID: 25709 | guest (Read) Updated: 15-03-2005 11:18 am | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact