Home - Media Services
Press Releases
Media Advisories
Calendar of Events
Media Relations

DG's Spokesperson
Flash Info
New UNESCO Courier
Cultural Events
UNESCO Publications
Information Services
UNESCO Documents
United Nations
- UN News Centre
- UN System Websites

Printer friendly version
Media are free to use and reproduce UNESCOPRESS outputs

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Nurturing the democratic debate.  
Struga poetry evenings: Laureates of Golden Crown and Bridges of Struga proclaimed at UNESCO
Editorial Contact: Jasmina Sopova, Bureau of Public Information, Press Relations, tel +33(0)1 45 68 17 17 - Email

19-03-2004 11:45 am Philippine poet Angelo V. Suárez, 19, is the first laureate of “Bridges of Struga”, a new international poetry prize created by the international festival Struga Poetry Evening in cooperation with UNESCO to reward young poets from all over the world. The proclamation, took place Thursday evening at Organization Headquarters, during a ceremony organized for World Poetry Day (21st March).

During the same ceremony, Portuguese poet Vasco Graça Moura was proclaimed laureate of the “Golden Crown” of the 43rd edition of the Struga Poetry Evenings.

Chosen from among 24 candidates from 15 UNESCO Member States, Angelo V. Suárez is a student at the Faculty of Arts and Letters of Santo Tomas University in Manila. He received the award for his collection of poems, The Nymph of MTV (UST Publishing House). The poems submitted to the jury by all of the candidates will be published in a multi-lingual anthology.

Born in 1942 in Porto, Vasco Graça Moura is one of the leading contemporary poets of the Portuguese language. He has published more than 60 books (poetry, prose, essays, and literary translations) and has won a great many distinctions including the 1995 Pessoa Prize.

To mark World Poetry Day, UNESCO is also paying tribute to the Chilean poet Pablo Neruda (1904-1973), laureate of the 1971 Nobel Prize for Literature who also received “The Golden Crown of Struga”, alongside poets such as Rafael Alberti (Spain), Yehuda Amichaï (Israel), W. H. Auden (United States), Makoto Ooka (Japan), Léopold Sédar Senghor (Senegal), and Andreï Voznesenski (Russian Federation).

The proclamation of the laureates of the “Golden Crown of Struga” and the “Bridges of Struga” at UNESCO follows the Joint Communiqué signed by UNESCO and the Macedonian authorities in August 2003 in Struga (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), in which they undertook to promote worldwide the interest in poetry.

The prize-giving ceremony for the two awards will be held during the Struga Poetry Evenings which will take place from August 25 to 29.

Source Press Release No 2004 - 24

 ID: 19394 | guest (Read) Updated: 19-03-2004 4:45 pm | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact