Home - Media Services
Press Releases
Media Advisories
Calendar of Events
Media Relations

DG's Spokesperson
Flash Info
The UNESCO Courier
Cultural Events
UNESCO Publications
Information Services
UNESCO Documents
United Nations
- UN News Centre
- UN System Websites

Printer friendly version
Media are free to use and reproduce UNESCOPRESS outputs

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Nurturing the democratic debate.  
15-03-2004 4:00 pm To mark this year’s World Poetry Day, UNESCO will pay tribute to Chilean poet and Nobel Literature Prize winner, Pablo Neruda (1904-1973), the centenary of whose birth is also being celebrated. The tribute will take place on Thursday, March 18, three days before World Poetry Day (March 21).

On the same day, Portuguese poet Vasco Graca Moura, will be proclaimed winner of the Golden Crown of the International Poetry Festival of Struga, and the winner of the first ever international poetry award Bridges of Struga, co-organized with UNESCO, will be announced.

In a message to be read on March 18, UNESCO Director-General Koïchiro Matsuura reminds us that Pablo Neruda, was Chile's Ambassador to UNESCO and adds: "Let us read and re-read his work at a point in time when humanity, in all its glorious diversity, needs to rediscover and fully grasp the meaning of dialogue and strive ceaselessly to multiply the occasions to nourish it."

UNESCO will begin its tribute to the 1971 laureate of the Nobel Prize for Literature at 3.00 p.m. (Room IV) with a symposium entitled Pablo Neruda and the dialogue of civilizations, which will include contributions from French academics Alain Sicard and Claire Zimmermann and Chilean writers Miguel Rojas Mix and Waldo Rojas.

An exhibition of photographs entitled Neruda, Poet of the Imagination will be inaugurated at 6.00 p.m. in the Segur Hall. The exhibition will run until March 31.

At 8.00 p.m. (Room I) a ceremony will take place to proclaim the Golden Crown of the International Poetry Festival of Struga, (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia). Awarded to Pablo Neruda in 1972, the prize this year will go to Portuguese poet Vasco Graca Moura. This will be followed by the announcement of the winner of the new Bridges of Struga prize, created by the International Poetry Festival of Struga in cooperation with UNESCO to reward young poets the world over. Both prizes will be presented at the Struga Festival in August.

The day’s events, organized in cooperation with the permanent delegations to UNESCO of Chile, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Portugal, the Gulbenkian Foundation and the Nobel Foundation, will end with a concert featuring Misia from Portugal, Angel Parra from Chile and Paco Ibanez of Spain.

For more information: www.unesco.org/bsp/neruda
Journalists wishing to cover these events should contact the Press Service, tel. +33 (0)1 45 68 17 48

Source Media advisory No 2004 - 17


 ID: 19254 | guest (Read) Updated: 19-03-2004 4:22 pm | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact