UNESCO.ORG The Organization Education Natural Sciences Social Sciences Culture Communication & Information
  Cultural Diversity
  World Heritage
  Tangible Heritage
  Intangible Heritage
  Normative Action
  Intercultural Dialogue
  Cultural Industries
  Arts and Creativity
  Cultural Tourism


UNESCO Cultural Activities Worldwide

Home Sitemap Print Send Subscribe
The International Scientific Committee on the "Iron Roads in Africa" 


The mandate of the International Scientific Committee is to submit to the Director-General recommendations on the implementation of the project, in particular concerning:

(i) the Project’s orientations and scientific activities;
(ii) the definition of the strategies for the implementation, evaluation and communication of the Project;
(iii) the strategy for financing the Project’s activities;
(iv) the establishment of mechanisms and networks for scientific cooperation.

Composition of the The International Scientific Committee on the "Iron Roads in Africa"
(Members appointed by the Director-General):

  • Frank Aig-Imoukhuede, Chairperson of the Scientific Committee.

  • Herman M. Batibo, Head of the Department of African Languages and Literature, University of Botswana, Gaborone, Botswana

  • Hamady Bocoum, Head of the Department of Prehistory, Institut fondamental d’Afrique noire, Dakar, Senegal

  • Melvin Edwards, Department of Visual Arts, The State University of New Jersey, United States

  • Martin Eno Belinga, Head of the Department of Earth Sciences, University of Yaoundé, Cameroon

  • José Mateus Muaria Kathupa, Minister of Youth and Culture of Mozambique, Maputo

  • Pierre Kipre, University of Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire

  • Joseph Ki-Zerbo, Director of the Research Centre for African Development, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

  • Lech Krzyzaniak, Polish National Commission for UNESCO, Warsaw, Poland

  • Alberto Lescay Merencio, President of the Caguayo Foundation, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba

  • Elikia Mbokolo, Research Director of the Centre for African Research, Paris, France

  • Pierre de Maret, Joint Chairperson of the Commission of the Exhibition, Director of the Centre of Cultural Anthropology, the Free University of Brussels, Belgium

  • Théophile Obenga, France

  • Bethwell Allan Ogot, Head of the Institute of Research and Postgraduate Studies, Maseno, Kenya

  • Klena Sanogo, Head of the Institute of Human Science, Bamako, Mali

  • D.J. Simbi, Department of Metallurgical Engineering, University of Zimbabwe.

Go back

Culture Sector
   Who´s who?
   Prizes & Celebrations