Definition of the cultural heritage

What is meant by “cultural heritage”?


The term “cultural heritage” encompasses several main categories of heritage:

- Cultural heritage:
     > Tangible cultural heritage:
          . movable cultural heritage (paintings, sculptures, coins, manuscripts, etc.)
          . immovable cultural heritage (monuments, archaeological sites, and so on)
          . underwater cultural heritage (shipwrecks, underwater ruins and cities and so on)
    > Intangible cultural heritage (oral traditions, performing arts, rituals, and so on)

- Natural heritage (natural sites with cultural aspects such as cultural landscapes, physical, biological or geological formations, and so on)

- Heritage in the event of armed conflict.

© 2008 - UNESCO