Diversity of Cultural Expressions

Ensuring the diversity of cultural expressions poses a challenge for today’s local, national and international communities.  In order to address this particular dimension of cultural diversity, UNESCO’s Member States adopted the Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions in 2005.


As the Convention enters into force in 2007, new approaches to cultural expressions in their diverse forms – books, television programmes, music, live performances and many more – should be developed. Along with ensuring the Secretariat of the Convention, UNESCO is currently redesigning its operational projects and elaborating new programmes to contribute to achieving the aims of the Convention.


News International Fund for Cultural Diversity: 2011 call for applications
News The 2010 Call for Applications to the International Fund for Cultural diversity is now open !
News Call for Applications for the 2010 UNESCO-Aschberg Bursaries for Artists
News 23 April: UNESCO launches the World Anti-Piracy Observatory to celebrate World Book and Copyright Day


Events Intergovernmental Copyright Committee - 14th Session

The 14th session of the Intergovernmental Committee on the Universal Copyright Convention as revised in 1971 will be held on:

7-9 June, 2010 UNESCO Headquarters, Paris, France.

Opening Ceremony Speech

  • Mr Francesco Bandarin, Assistant Director-General for Culture


1.  Provisional Agenda
     (Also in French | Spanish | Russian | Arabic)

2.  List of the 18 Membres States of the Intergovernmental Committee

3.  Rules of Procedure of the Intergovernmental Committee

4.  Final Report on the XIIIth session of the Intergovernmental Committee 
     (Also in French | Spanish | Arabic | Russian )

5.  Text of the Universal Copyright Convention:
     1971 Paris Act | 1952 Geneva Act 

6.  List of UCC State Parties:
     1971 Paris Act | 1952 Geneva Act

7.  Working documents :

8.  Provisional Timetable
     English | French

9. Final Report
    English | French | Spanish | Russian | Arabic

© 2008 - UNESCO