UNESCO.ORG The Organization Education Natural Sciences Social Sciences Culture Communication & Information
  About DigiArts
  Media arts
  Music using technology
  Regional networking

  UNESCO Digital Arts Award
  Young Digital Creators

Sarai Media Lab is the grand prize winner of UNESCO Digital Arts Award 2004
 The main prize of the UNESCO Digital Arts Award 2004 goes to the Indian Sarai Media Lab and their winning project Network of No Des. 

isea2004.jpg This year, in its aim to promote digital creation as an innovative artistic reflection on information and knowledge society, the UNESCO Digital Arts Award was bestowed in association with the 12th International Symposium on Electronic Arts (ISEA 2004), organized on a Baltic Sea cruise and in the cities of Helsinki and Tallinn respectively (14-22 August 2004).
The award ceremony took place on 20 August at the Kiasma theatre in Helsinki, Finland, in the presence of the President of Finland, Mrs Tarja Halonen, Ms Yukiko Shikata, who especially conveyed the congratulatory message from the Director-General of UNESCO, and Ms Zabrina Holmstrom, Secretary-General of the Finnish National Commission for UNESCO.

On this occasion, Sarai Media Lab received 7000 US dollars plus a three-month artistic residency in association with the Helsinki International Artist-in-residence Programme, HIAP. The following prize position was shared among three artist groups and individuals: Slovenian Projekt Atol (Makrolab 2004 - ISEA Networks), Thai artist Bundith Phunsombatlert (Path of Illusion), and Radioqualia from New Zealand (Radio Astronomy - The Space Station), who each received 1000 US dollars.

In addition, special honourable mention went to the projects ”Invisible Fields” (Meredith Finkelstein) and “Subkultourist” (Platoniq).

The International Jury committee, composed of five jury members with a balance of geo-cultural representation, was appointed by UNESCO. The members were Mr Eugenio Tisselli Vélez, researcher/developer in physical interface design and multimedia software development from Mexico, Mr Roger Malina, executive editor of the Journal Leonardo and Board chairman of the International Society for Arts, Sciences and Technology from the USA, Ms Samia A. Halaby, visual artist working with electronic media from Palestine, MrMarcus Neustetter, media artist and joint director of The Trinity Session from South Africa, and lastly Ms Yukiko Shikata, independent media art curator and critic from Japan acting as President of the Jury Committee.

The jury based their final selection on the following criteria:
- Artistic imagination
- Innovative research
- Content specificity
- Social and cultural criticism
- Social interaction and connection to public space
- Visualization of environments
- Visualization of environments

File/document DG congratulatory message_ISEA 2004.pdf
  • ISEA website

    Go back
  • Culture All Unesco
    Advanced Search

        © UNESCO | Disclaimer |guest (Read) | News ID: 22405  | Date Added: 2004-08-25 9:27 am | Updated: 2005-04-18 12:51 pm ContactDigi-Arts